Subscription vs API · plans checked Nov 1, 2026

Subscription or API?

Plan prices change by country, their limits are vague, and the plans themselves change often. Here are the official prices with their sources, and a calculator that shows when paying per token costs less than a monthly plan.

Which costs less for you?

Pick a plan and the API model closest to it, then describe how you chat. API prices are the standard rates from the cost calculator.

Default prices for United States
Your usage
Questions you send on a typical day
Your message plus the chat history the app resends; grows in long chats
Reply length, including reasoning tokens
API with GPT-6.1 SolCheaper
$11
$0.01 per message
ChatGPT Plus
$20.00
per month, before discounts

For this use, the API costs $9.00 less a month. That is $108 over a year. Break-even: about 56 messages a day. Fewer than that, the API is cheaper; more, the plan is.

Before you switch

Official plan prices

Monthly list prices in US dollars. Usage is shown as each provider publishes it: a multiple of another plan, or 'Not published' when no figure is given.

ChatGPT

PlanPer monthBilled yearly (per month)UsageAPI credits / month
Free $0.00 — Limited —
GoPrice set per country $8.00† — Not published —
Plus $20.00 — Not published —
Pro 100 $100.00 — Not published $100.00
Pro 200 $200.00 — Not published $200.00
Pro 500 $500.00 — Not published $500.00

Prices for the United States, in US dollars. Before tax. · Checked Nov 1, 2026 · Source

† Indicative: the figure the provider announced, not one read from a current pricing page.

Plus and Pro prices are on OpenAI's help pages, in US dollars. Go has no price there: $8 is the US figure OpenAI announced when Go launched on 16 January 2026, so treat it as a guide.

Claude

PlanPer monthBilled yearly (per month)UsageAPI credits / month
Free $0.00 — Limited —
Pro $20.00 $16.67 Not published —
Max $100.00 — 5× Pro $100.00
Ultra $200.00 — 10× Pro $200.00

Prices for the United States, in US dollars. Before tax. · Checked Nov 1, 2026 · Source

Claude's pricing page lists one set of US-dollar prices, before tax.

Gemini

PlanPer monthBilled yearly (per month)UsageAPI credits / month
Free $0.00 — Limited —
Google AI Plus $4.99 — 2× Free —
Google AI Pro $19.99 — 4× Free —
Google AI Ultra (5×) $99.99 — 5× Google AI Pro —
Google AI Ultra (20×) $199.99 — 20× Google AI Pro —

Prices for the United States, in US dollars. Tax not stated. · Checked Nov 1, 2026 · Source

Grok

PlanPer monthBilled yearly (per month)UsageAPI credits / month
Plus $8.00 — Not published —
Premium $30.00 — 4× Plus —
Super $100.00 — 15× Plus —
Ultra $200.00 — 50× Plus —

Prices for the United States, in US dollars. Before tax. · Checked Nov 1, 2026 · Source

x.ai/pricing lists these prices before tax but does not name a country. Another Grok page, grok.com/plans, showed higher Premium, Super and Ultra prices when opened from Morocco (also before tax), so Grok's price can depend on the page and the country.

DeepSeek

No paid plan: the DeepSeek website and app are free to use. DeepSeek charges only for its API.

Tax not stated. · Checked Nov 1, 2026 · Source

Same plan, different country

Google publishes Gemini plan prices per country. These amounts come from its own country selector.

GeminiUnited StatesUnited KingdomFrance
Google AI Plus$4.99£4.49€4.99
Google AI Pro$19.99£18.99€21.99
Google AI Ultra (5×)$99.99£79.99€99.99
Google AI Ultra (20×)$199.99£189.99€219.99

Tax not stated. · Checked Nov 1, 2026 · Source: United States · United Kingdom · France